Building an International Finance Career

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
karenkalina-216.jpg
This post is part of a special series celebrating the School’s Alumni Forever Week (March 30 through April 2).

Karen Kalina ’94
Director, Strategy and Portfolio Analysis, Siemens Real Estate

Tell us about your career path since getting your MBA.
Before Columbia Business School, I worked at the United Nations. I worked on various budgets, and that inspired me to go to business school. I knew there was some method I needed to find out. I also speak five languages, including Czech and German, so my dream was always to get over to Eastern Europe. After I graduated, I worked at State Street Bank and Trust in the global custody division and later their credit and risk management group, focusing on Europe and Eastern Europe. After leaving State Street, I moved to Prague to work in financial services with KPMG Consulting on bank privatizations and then to Credit Suisse Financial Services in mergers and acquisitions in Weisbaden, Germany. After the Internet bubble popped, I had been in Europe for six years and I made a decision to come back to the U.S. I looked for jobs through the School’s job BANC network. Through a fellow alum I found a position with Siemens.

What has the transition from financial services to corporate business been like?
I am now celebrating five years at Siemens. In financial services I was a three-year person, so that tells you something! You can shift internally in corporate business and it is more flexible than financial services, which calls for a very defined set of skills. Working in finance as a woman with two kids, I had to make trade-offs. I am believer of staying in the work force as a working mother, but I knew being in mergers and acquisitions, where I was on the road all the time, would be too much. When I missed my second child’s first steps, that was an eye opener.

What has been your experience as a woman in finance?