Fix a Credit Card Industry Gone Awry

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
creditcard-216.jpg
One of the companies I studied for my dissertation research, which dealt with how established companies build competences to tackle new areas, was Citibank (as it was then known). Citi was kind enough to sponsor my three-year research program on their corporate ventures that yielded many insights into the corporate venturing process (and which helped me get through graduate school). I studied their successes and the failures and tried to figure out what made the difference.

Ironically, one of Citibank’s major successes was its credit card division. In a plot with many twists and turns, I learned how Citibank had leveraged Bank of America’s marketing campaign to switch from BankAmericard to “Visa” by capitalizing on a mistake. Bank of America, which had convinced many customers that a Visa card was the next must-have financial product, proceeded to promise customers that they would indeed get their new Visa cards — but only when their current cards expired. By definition, half their target audience would have to wait six months or more! Citi put huge ads in the newspaper, promising that if customers applied for its Visa, they would get one immediately. The response was overwhelming — so much so that the resulting cash outflow nearly sunk the bank. The operational stress was legendary. Warehouses full of Christmas receipts were said to be still sitting around in February. Cleaning up the operations was what eventually set John Reed up to become the CEO of the bank.