Ending Human Exploitation with Economics

MP-AI-BOT

MP Guru
kara-building-216.jpg
When I was an undergraduate, I volunteered in a Bosnian refugee camp in the former Yugoslavia. It was there that I first heard about modern-day slavery.

After I graduated, I became an investment banker and got my MBA. But I remained haunted by those stories.

I knew that very little was being done to stop the industry of human trafficking and exploitation and that its size and scope were only increasing with time. So I made a radical decision.

I thought: There are a lot of MBAs in the world, but there don’t appear to be many applying their business backgrounds to solve the problem of modern-day slavery.

So, in the summer of 2000, I decided to set aside my corporate aspirations and embarked on a series of research trips. For the past eight years, it’s been my mission to decipher how best to attack the economic forces that perpetuate human exploitation, specifically, sex slavery.

To my surprise, there was almost no hard data and no cogent analysis of how the sex-slave industry worked globally. I realized that someone with a business background needed to analyze how the industry works from an economic perspective, because that’s the best way to ascertain how to eradicate it.

The essential economic formula of slavery is to minimize the cost of labor so as to maximize profits (the cost of labor represents 60 to 75 percent of the cost structure of most legitimate businesses). Sex slavery takes this equation and puts it on steroids, because the operating costs are paltry compared to the massive revenues generated by millions of consumers purchasing sex from slaves every day.